EU & Eastern Partnership Affirm Commitment to Digital Economy

European CommissionThe EU and six Eastern Partnership countries affirmed their commitment to the digital economy at a meeting in Tallinn, Estonia on 5 October. The Eastern Partnership Ministerial Meeting, organised by the Estonian Presidency of the Council of the European Union, resulted in a commitment to deepen cooperation on digital economy issues between the EU and Eastern Partnership countries in a number of areas.

The Eastern Partnership, a grouping of countries, including Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine, agreed to work closely with the EU on six areas: “electronic communications and infrastructure, trust and security, eTrade, digital skills, ICT innovation, startup ecosystems and eHealth.”

According to Andrus Ansip, European Commission Vice-President for the Digital Single Market, “The EU continues to work closely with its Eastern partners in the digital area, focusing on promoting high-speed broadband internet to boost economies and expand e-services, creating more jobs in the digital industry and reducing roaming tariffs among the Eastern partner countries. Using digital solutions brings efficiency and transparency to governance and benefits to citizens.”

More information can be found on the website of the European Commission.