European Commission formally urges EU Member States to transpose NIS Directive into national laws

European CommissionOn July 19 the European Commission sent letters to 17 Member States with a formal notice to transpose the EU-wide cybersecurity legislation (NIS Directive) into national law. The targeted countries, who have yet to comply with the directive, include Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, and Spain. The countries are given two months to respond, after which the Commission may issue a ‘reasoned opinion’ and ultimately decide to raise the matter within the European Court of Justice.

The main objective of the NIS Directive is to raise the level of security of network and information systems across the EU by developing national cybersecurity capabilities, increasing EU-level cooperation, and other measures.

The full update may be found on the European Commission’s website.